Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

I am totally stumped :(

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Michael

Michael Report 19 Jan 2013 22:13

Hi all

I don't know if anyone can help me. I am fairly new to this and have come to a dead end. This is what i have so far:

Christopher Buckley, born in 1902 in Fermoy, Cork. He was in the army and on his Baptism certificate, it says that his parents are Patrick Buckley, Army Pensioner and Margaret Hayes. His 'sponser' (godparent) was Nora Hayes.

I cannot find anything else about Patrick Buckley or Margaret Hayes. I don't have the year of their birth, marriage or deaths. I assume them to come from Ireland and that Patrick was in the army. I have searched census and BMD but can't find anything (I can't even find Christopher on 1901 or 1911 census).

If Patrick was in the army, could his details be in the military records? This is a whole new area of Genealogy to me and i don't know where to start.

If anyone can help me i would be really grateful. Many thanks

ErikaH

ErikaH Report 19 Jan 2013 22:24

Christopher Buckley, born in 1902 in Fermoy, Cork. He was in the army and on his Baptism certificate, it says that his parents are Patrick Buckley, Army Pensioner and Margaret Hayes. His 'sponser' (godparent) was Nora Hayes.