Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

  • The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Gift subscriptions

Genes Reunited gift subscription

Do you know someone interested in discovering their family history?

You can now buy a gift subscription to Genes Reunited so they can research their family tree.

Buy gift or redeem gift

Icons

  • New posts
  • No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Please can anyone look at army Records

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Ann

Ann Report 11 Mar 2013 23:28

Abraham [ John] Waller, I have his birth 1870, baptism 1877 Clifton, Gloucestershire, he married 1904 from free BMD, I have him in the 1911 census he went to Australia in 1920,
I see he in the Chelsea Pensioners' Service Records 1760-1913, Please can someone look at his records to see where he was from 1881- 1904.
Thank you,
Ann

MarieCeleste

MarieCeleste Report 11 Mar 2013 23:41

British Army Service Records 1760-1915 Transcription

First name(s): Abraham
Last name: WALLER
Calculated year of birth: 1870
Parish of birth: Clifton
Town of birth: Bristol
County of birth: Gloucestershire
Age at attestation: 18 years
Attestation date: 12 July 1888
Attestation corps: WESH REGMT
Attestation soldier number: 6291
Discharge rank:
Discharge corps:
Discharge soldier number:
The National Archives reference: WO97 / 6154 / 147

Looks like he was originally in the 3rd Battalion Gloucester Regiment.

5' 5" tall, weight 122lb. Fresh complexion, grey eyes, brown hair. tattooed dots left forearm. Religion c of E.

Next of kin was mother Fanny at 1 Rock Court, Clifton, Bristol. His occupation on enlistment was labourer.

Served:
1888 - 1890 Home
1890 - 1892 Malta
1892 - 1896 India
1896 - 1898 Home
1898 - 1899 Malta
1899 - 1901 Gibraltar
1901 Home

Discharged 22 June 1901

His records wouldn't show where he was from since 1881, only from 1888.

Ann

Ann Report 11 Mar 2013 23:58

Thank you Marie,
I was hoping it would say where he was stationed, I will have to see if I can find where the Regiment were Stationed.
Ann

MarieCeleste

MarieCeleste Report 12 Mar 2013 00:03

Ann - I've added where he served from 1888 to 1901.

Ann

Ann Report 12 Mar 2013 00:05

Thank you Marie,
I have just seen the additional info, no wonder I couldn't find him in the census, that is very useful, thanks Ann