Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Getting started without a Birth Record?

Page 0 + 1 of 3

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Bryn

Bryn Report 25 Mar 2010 09:06

I'm new to this and don't really know what I'm doing but can one of you kind people please steer me a little? I have an Alfred William Jones born 15/01/1917 apparently in Derby. Allegedly never had a birth certificate. Father was apparently also an Alfred mother is unkown. Sibblings were apparently Elsie, Les & Ron but thtas also unconfirmed. He served in WW2 as number 8/57132 serial 5678/A and apparently enlisted 28/12/1936. I'm not sure how to trace ancestry without a Birth Cert? Any advice short of 'give up' would be greatly appreciated.

Bryn

Bryn Report 25 Mar 2010 09:18

Alledgedly married Eileen Curbishley in 1946 but I can't locate the cert. I found one for Eileen Curbishley and surname 'James' and was wondering if it could be a typo? Nottingham 1946 April-June 7b 874 - its the right era???

Suzi-Wong

Suzi-Wong Report 25 Mar 2010 09:19

Do you know when/if he has died? Who is the informant? Have you found any of the "sibling's" births? Do you know where he was living..could you check electoral rolls for that address to see who he was living with?

Suzanne

Bryn