Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

regtimental numbers

Page 0 + 1 of 2

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Patricia

Patricia Report 18 Nov 2011 22:19

Hi
I am hoping someone may be able to offer me some advice. I am quite new to this but have hit a brick wall. My father was in the Coldstream guards during the 50/60s and I was looking forward to finding out more about his army service. However as I cannot supply his regitmental number I have little hope of finding out anything about it.
So the long and short of it is Does anyone have any idea how I may find it or have any other suggestions on how I may apply for his details without it? Cheers :-(

GlitterBaby

GlitterBaby Report 18 Nov 2011 22:28

http://www.veterans-uk.info/service_records/army.html

Army service records are held by Service Number, Rank, Full Name and Date of Birth. It is important that as much of this information as possible is provided, together with the Regiment or Corps if known, to assist in locating the correct record.

Does not actually say you can not apply without the service number but obviously useful if you had it

George_of_Westbury

George_of_Westbury Report 18 Nov 2011 23:15