Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Birth certificates

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Kevin

Kevin Report 17 Oct 2012 21:58

Hi I am new to researching family trees I have found birth records of several of my ancestors . How do I get birth certificates ?

brummiejan

brummiejan Report 17 Oct 2012 22:10

Hi Kevin.
I assume this is England/Wales?
If so, certs cost £9.25 and can be ordered online from the GRO:

http://www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/

Jan

Chris in Sussex

Chris in Sussex Report 17 Oct 2012 22:31

You have two options....

Either to buy from the GRO (General Register Office) or from the relevant local Register Office.

If I have the index record and I am sure that I have the right event then I use the GRO as it is easy and quick using the online order form.

http://www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/certificates/default.asp

Local Offices may or may not issue certificates for family history research and some take longer than the GRO, though some are said to be quicker!

Chris

Porkie_Pie

Porkie_Pie Report 18 Oct 2012 08:57

Just a note; The GRO reference number is of no use to Local Registry Offices as they have their own reference system

Roy

DazedConfused

DazedConfused Report 18 Oct 2012 11:21