Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Search results

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

SUE

SUE Report 25 May 2013 15:41

Hi I am brand new to this, when I search for a relative (living or ancestral) how do I add to the family tree? I have added my immediate family using the add button on the family tree, but for others I need to confirm using the census/marriage/death search but can't figure out how to add these directly to my tree. thanks in aniticpation
Sue

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it Report 25 May 2013 15:47

Sue you need to work back methodically. To add relatives you need to know where they are in the tree . you cant just random add someone.

I started with me !! I know who my parents were and my siblings . once I had mum and dad entered then I could add their parents and siblings and work back.

Its a slow process sometimes that needs to verified with census and certs

KempinaPartyhat

KempinaPartyhat Report 25 May 2013 17:14

Sue I think you need to add them manually !!! find the details then write them down and add them in the same way u added your family so to your mum add a mother ect ect

ErikaH

ErikaH Report 25 May 2013 22:21

You can't copy from censuses or BMD indices to your tree.