Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Finding a Father's name without a BC

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

rosyface

rosyface Report 21 May 2017 08:24

I am new to this so apologies...

Is the only way to find out if a man was the Father - to buy a birth certificate?

Jean M David was born illegitimately in Greenwich in 1933.
Her mother was Winifred Jones.
Her Father asked for his name to be put on her Birth Certificate.

I am trying to get confirmation on his name.
Any advice / search tips gratefully received.

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it Report 21 May 2017 08:52

If the parents didn't marry then the only way is to buy her birth cert

They seem to have registered her as if they were married as she is only listed as surname David mmn Jones

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it Report 21 May 2017 09:10

Not seeing Winifred on the London electoral rolls in Greenwich with a mr David. But the reg distinct covers more than Greenwich so she could be in one of the ares it covers
GREENWICH REGISTRATION DISTRICT

Registration County : London (1837-1965), Greater London (from 1965).
Created : 1.7.1837.