Suggestions

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

ENH: Tree Enhancements

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

JerryH

JerryH Report 26 Nov 2011 19:22

You will have probably gathered that I rerely post to this site.
This is not because of any lack of interest in genealogy - I am a researcher of over 25 years experience- but because, in the main, I have no issues with the workings of this site which is, in general, excellent.
It is only recently I have been exploring the Boards for answers to some site problems.

I would like to make a plea for some tree enhancements where the only workaround at the moment is to edit and replace the GEDCOM file:
I might add that I do not like using GEDCOM files to update my tree as I always find it a risky business and more than once has replacement resulted in attached data such as photos moving to inapropriate records.

It would be far better if Genes provided a few additional features that would make my use of the GEDCOM file unnecessary for other than a Backup.

1. - Merge two individuals:
I have often come accross situations where, for example, cousins marry. At the moment the only way that one can enter the information on a tree is by showing one of the people twiice.