Suggestions

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

  • The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Genes Extras

Genes Reunited subscription bonuses

As a way of saying thank you to our subscribers, we have launched Genes Extras. You'll find exclusive competitions and discounts on family history magazines, days out and much more.

Take me to Genes Extras

Icons

  • New posts
  • No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Message Box - Folders

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

InspectorGreenPen

InspectorGreenPen Report 22 Apr 2012 19:23

Yes, that is my understanding, all connection with the other member are hidden.

However, is either they or you re establish connection, then I believe, you can again see all your messages unless they have also been deleted.

DazedConfused

DazedConfused Report 22 Apr 2012 12:18

Must add that when I am contacted (which is rare) if there is no familial connection I will delete that message.

But I do now really need to seriously look at my old contacts and also ask some people to remove my access to their trees as there is no need for me to have access.

KenSE

KenSE Report 21 Apr 2012 21:45

If my second point is true then it could explain why some of the messages from you contacts have disappeared, i.e. because the contact has deleted them.

Cynthia

Cynthia Report 21 Apr 2012 20:35

This is from January of this year from Phil Moir Ken.....does it help?


Only the Inbox items should actually move to the new folder. However, if you click on ANY of the messages that have been moved it should show you all messages back and forth in that conversation. The sent items should stay in the sent messages. If they're not, then I need to have your messages checked.





I have almost 13,000 contacts - mostly from people to whom I have sent one of my messages.

To sort the 'wheat from the chaff' so to speak, I put my 'family' surnames into the search part of my Messages and, when any messages containing the name of my relative came up, I simply transferred them into a folder. After that, I went through each folder to see which ones I wanted to keep and those I didn't, I simply deleted.

I can now delete the non-connected messages without worrying.


I have about 6 folders I think. Cx

KenSE

KenSE Report 21 Apr 2012 19:40

If a contact is deleted are all the message they sent deleted?

If a sent message is deleted does that vanish from the receiver's inbox?

LadyScozz

LadyScozz Report 21 Apr 2012 15:42

ooooooooooer.

Thanks Eileen. I think I'll leave my messages where they are lol At least it's only one place to look.

I send enough emails to GR as it is :-D

LadyScozz

LadyScozz Report 21 Apr 2012 15:34

possible nightmare! I have almost 3,000 names on my contacts list. No idea how many messages I have.

Many of them are people who gave me access to their trees before finding out if we have any matches......... but lots of them at the ones who send a message every six months asking the same ** questions! I refer them to previous messages lol.

So what do I call that folder? Bad Memory? Echoes?

I'll wait and see what others have done.

GlitterBaby

GlitterBaby Report 21 Apr 2012 11:55

Not tried that function yet but not looking promising is it

LadyScozz

LadyScozz Report 21 Apr 2012 11:33

I thought I'd make a start on sorting out my messages. I don't delete many.

Started out by creating folders......six of them.

I now have thirteen folders.

5 of one name, 3 of one name, 2 of one name and 3 singles.

I'm not transferring ANY of my messages until I know this system works properly.

What if I move my messages and the folder system collapses?

I'll go back and delete the superfluous ones.....add a few more.... and see what happens

I'm at a loss where to put some of my messages - the ones referring to multiple surnames........... argghhhh!