Suggestions

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

  • The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Electoral Rolls

Looking for living relatives?

Search our UK Electoral Rolls (2002-2013) and find your living relatives today.

Search Electoral Rolls

New electoral roll records

Icons

  • New posts
  • No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Backing up messages

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Mike

Mike Report 3 Aug 2012 14:17

With the recent increase in talk about leaving due to the removal of the "old tree" I just wanted to warn people about what happens when someone leaves GenesReunited and to suggest Genes Reunited implements a message backup feature.

I recently received the following from support after I was having difficulty tracking down someone I had been exchanging messages with.

"When a member removes their registration all details are deleted including emails they have sent, as there is no longer a way to contact the member through the site, I hope this explains what has happened, and I am sorry for any disappointment caused."

In my case there was valuable information in those emails and it never occurred to me that they might suddenly disappear.

Fortunately somebody at Genes Reunited took pity and did manage to extract the information, presumably from a backup, but I don't think you can rely on it.

When I asked about how I could make my own backup of my conversations I was told...

"I am afraid there is not a easy way to save messages, I can only suggest that you will need to copy and paste them in to a word document"

I have just finished doing that and as I have been a member for years it has taken quite an effort. So I would suggest you all start copying and pasting now!

So just to clarify. If someone who sent you a message leaves Genes Reunited, that message will no longer be in your inbox.

Porkie_Pie

Porkie_Pie Report 3 Aug 2012 14:58

Why delete your account?

If you let your subscription laps then you automatically become a free member

My understanding of what free members have access to includes the ability to reply to anyone who sends you a PM

so surely provided you don't delete your account you should still have access to your messages?

or has this changed


Roy

Edit, no it has not changed

It is free to register with Genes Reunited. You can build your family tree, use the search facilities to find possible matches to your family name, add notes against relations in your tree, post photos on your family tree and receive emails from other members and reply to these emails.

from http://www.genesreunited.co.uk/help/faqs?key=177&searchterm=free%20members

GlitterBaby

GlitterBaby Report 3 Aug 2012 15:04

I think Mike is trying to warn members if that some one decides to delete their account then all details go.

BUT I am surprised Mike that you did not copy any valuable information anyway.

Not sure but if you delete your account then all postings go on threads as well so any information given on this site should be copied.

jax

jax Report 3 Aug 2012 17:27

If you delete your account, postings on threads stay on the boards GB

I have just tried to send a message to a deleted account and they have changed it so now hidden right at the top of the page it says Unable to send a message as account maybe deleted...where as before the members name showed as gobblygook

But of course anyone can just delete their threads/posts should they wish