Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

**Updates at end**The long story of Joseph EWINS b

Page 0 + 1 of 7

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

PaulafromOz

PaulafromOz Report 11 Feb 2009 22:31

This is my first time posting and I would be really grateful if someone would be able to help me find some information.

I have been searching for my Great Grandfather's birth certificate with no luck.His name was Joseph John Michael Gabriel Ewins and he was born on 21st December 1863.

In 1883 he joined the Irish Rifles and his Army papers listed his age as 19 years 8m and said he was from Bloomsbury,Middlesex.

He was said to have attended a boarding school as a child.
His Army papers listed his mother,Julia Ewins(nee Fitzgerald),as his next of kin.She was listed as living at Myrtle Cottage,Barnet.

Before he joined the Army he was said to be a musician.
We believe he moved to Belfast with the Army.He served in Canada,Gibraltar,the Mediterranean,India and I was always told he was in the Boer War.

He was a Lance Corporal and I have photos of him(taken in Poona,India) labelled"The Band" and "F Company".He was in the army 15 years 184 days and was discharged 1st March 1899 unfit because of Cancer(forehead).