Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Best websites for English relatives??

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Tina

Tina Report 19 Nov 2013 14:26

HI there,

I have been tracing my scottish side of my family for a couple of years and found the scotlands people site a godsend as it has nearly everthing there, Births, Marriage, deaths and such where you can pay to veiw the certificates.

Iam now starting on my mums side who are based around the Kent area and i dont know what site is best to get the most from, so any help from anyone on here would be very much appreciated in pushing me in the right direction.

Thank you for your time in reading this thread.

Tina

Diana

Diana Report 19 Nov 2013 15:27

Hi Tina

I live in Scotland and have been tracing my Scottish relatives. However, my grandmother's family hail from Kent and I've been researching there too.

You could try Centre for Kentish Studies, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XQ - Tel: 01622 694371.

You could also try the archives at Canterbury.

I went to Canterbury and Maidstone to research personally, which is the best option. However, depending on where you live that may not be an option.

Good luck with your research.

Diana

Tina

Tina Report 19 Nov 2013 15:32

HI Diana,