Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Jenny/Jane Thomas b.1896

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Sarah

Sarah Report 19 Feb 2018 21:24

Hi there

I've been researching this strand of my family history for about 10 years on and off but this one is always a sticking point.

Jane Thomas, also known as Jenny, was my great grandmother. Her daughter (my nan) is adamant she was born 9 Feb 1896, but as yet, I have found no official records of this.
She also says that Jane was adopted...

1901 census - St. Dogmells
Jenny Thomas, aged 6, adopted daughter of James (1861) and Rachel (1863) Davies.

1911 census, Bellfield Hotel, Water Street, Pembroke Dock.
Jenny Thomas, aged 16, niece to David (1863) and Eleanor (1857) Jenkins.

Eleanor Musgrave, nee Davies (1885) appears in both 1901 and 1911 census.
My nan says that Eleanor Musgrave moved to Newport with Jenny and lived there until her death.

Marriage certificate (2 June 1919 to Frank Williams) states that father was David Thomas, occ: master mariner.

My thoughts are that Jenny was adopted by her aunt and uncle and I believe David, Eleanor, James or Rachel is the sibling of Jenny's mother. But which, I can't work out! :-(

Please bear with me - this is my first post. I hope I've included everything I can think of!