Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

So many Lemons

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Jennifer

Jennifer Report 13 Jan 2024 18:03

So here goes. I've been researching my mum's paternal side of the family for nearly 30 years (on and off) after she was told she looked just like her dad. She has never met or even seen a photo of him or anyone from that side of the family.

What I know so far is that his name was Robert Lemon and he was born in Ballywalter, Ireland in Dec 1935, he had one brother Thomas and one sister Kathleen. His parents were Samuel and Kathleen. We know his brother Thomas has died but can't seem to find a death cert for his sister.

When I started I thought Lemon would be quite an unusual name to research (boy was I wrong!)

My mum will be celebrating a big birthday soon and I would love nothing more than to be able to either find living relatives or a photo of someone from the family.

A woman on the council did Roberts's death cert as they couldn't find any other relative so there was no hope from that area. We have found relatives of Thomas but his family don't seem to know anything as they seem to have been a falling out when my mum was a toddler.

I do have more dates/places etc and any help or ideas would be amazing

thanks you

ArgyllGran