General Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

  • The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

  • New posts
  • No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

ASSISTANCE REQU'D PLEASE - INCOME TAX

Page 1 + 1 of 2

  1. «
  2. 1
  3. 2
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

AnnCardiff

AnnCardiff Report 30 Jun 2008 23:22

Hi Sue - never ever done anything on line regarding income tax

AnnCardiff

AnnCardiff Report 30 Jun 2008 23:21

funny that - I put the sender's title in google - hmrc.gov.uk - and it is the official Inland Revenue site!!!!

Sue

Sue Report 30 Jun 2008 23:20

The only way this would be possible if if you had signed up for the equivalent to HMRC Gateway access to IR. This may have been if you were making a return online.

Sue xx

AnnCardiff

AnnCardiff Report 30 Jun 2008 23:17

I shall send the copy of the email to the Inland Revenue - thanks again everyone for your input - a bit green me in internet things!!! I'm what's known as a salesman's dream!!

AnnCardiff

AnnCardiff Report 30 Jun 2008 19:10

thanks folks - thought it was too good to be true!! shall delete it right now!

JaneyCanuck

JaneyCanuck Report 30 Jun 2008 19:10

How did the revenooers get your email address? ;)

I'll bet they've never sent you an email before!

I get emails at every single one of my 2 dozen Gmail accounts telling me I have a problem with my Ebay or PayPal account. None of those Gmail account owners (all me) has an Ebay or PayPal account.

They use software to invent every possible email address in the world, or in your case in the UK, and send out emails to all of them. Probably more than half bounce back because the email address is nonexistent -- but that doesn't matter, because the phishers have abandoned the email account they were sending from anyhow!

You can read up on the practice of phishing:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phishing

"In computing, phishing is the criminally fraudulent process of attempting to acquire sensitive information such as usernames, passwords and credit card details, by masquerading as a trustworthy entity in an electronic communication. Communications purporting to be from PayPal, eBay, Youtube or online banks are commonly used to lure the unsuspecting. Phishing is typically carried out by e-mail or instant messaging, and it often directs users to enter details at a website."

and never ever do anything but delete the email (oops -- or report it to your ISP as phishing).

In fact, if you google the title of the email, you will probably find websites warning of it.

Jenxx

Jenxx Report 30 Jun 2008 19:07

Be very careful Ann
Jenxx

MrDaff

MrDaff Report 30 Jun 2008 19:06

You would apply for it... and they would then either ask you to send your bank details so they could deposit the pennies.. and then they'd kindly empty your account for you, the b******.... or they would know that you had an open and valid account ready for spam!! It's a scam!

Do you do your tax stuff via the internet? I have done mine before... but they still sent me a cheque in the post and there was no e-mail confirmation of it..... and every year when filling the forms in on-line, you have to re-log on with a new set of numbers etc

I'd delete it!

Love

Daff xxx

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it

Shirley~I,m getting the hang of it Report 30 Jun 2008 19:04

NO its another one of those scams, I had the same email last week.if you go back to them they will know they have a LIVE email address and it will be followed by more emaiils enticing you in ,to part with money or your bank/credit card details.
delete it, or if you can report it as a phishing email which will also delete it

AnnCardiff

AnnCardiff Report 30 Jun 2008 19:02

forgot to say it has given me a website from which I can access the tax refund form - should I look at it or not? Bit scared of these things.

Gwyn in Kent

Gwyn in Kent Report 30 Jun 2008 19:02

I don't think you have to apply for refunds do you?
If you are due one I think it would just be sent?

Gwyn

AnnCardiff

AnnCardiff Report 30 Jun 2008 19:00

I shall be doing that tomorrow but wonder what would be the point of anyone sending such an email - what would they gain from it?

Dawnieher3headaches

Dawnieher3headaches Report 30 Jun 2008 18:47

Ann

doubt it they would just send you letter with cheque attached.
Ring you local tax office and they will be able to tell you.

d x

Foggy

Foggy Report 30 Jun 2008 18:47

NO

AnnCardiff

AnnCardiff Report 30 Jun 2008 18:42

I have just received an email purporting to come from HM Revenue and Customs informing me of a tax refund of £188.50 and telling me to apply for this refund. Is this possibly true please?