General Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Sunlight

Sunlight Report 8 Jan 2017 11:11

Hi I am new to genes reunited and was just wondering if anyone has got any info on my great great great grandfather George Fitton, born in Salford round 1807.I cant seem to go any further back because his mothers maiden name isnt on his birth certificate.

AnninGlos

AnninGlos Report 8 Jan 2017 11:18

Welcome to the chat board Margaret. You might consider going on the Find Ancestors board where somebody may be able to help you.

Sunlight

Sunlight Report 8 Jan 2017 11:29

Hi.I am new to genes reunited and was wondering if anyone had any information about my great, great, great grandfathers parents.He was George Fitton, born in Salford Lancs round 1804.His mothers name isnt on his birth certificate.

KathleenBell

KathleenBell Report 8 Jan 2017 11:32

If George Fitton was born circa 1807 then there won't be a birth certificate. Civil registration only came into being in July 1837, so all you will possibly find is a baptism record.

Are you certain he was born in Salford? There is this record from 1811:-

First name(s) George
Last name Fitten
Birth year 1811
Birth date 05 Mar 1811
Baptism year 1811
Baptism date 17 Apr 1811
Place Rochdale