Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Trying to find Butler

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Andrew

Andrew Report 15 Apr 2006 03:49

Let me start by saying that I am just a novice at family history and have not had access to much in the way of sources, so please be gentle with me! On a family tree of the Butlers of Kirkland (whose accuracy or otherwise I am trying to establish) drawn up in 1915 by (probably) my great-grandfather*, there is a quotation from a document in Latin, but with no citation as to source (and I don't know where the copy he took it from has gone in the last 91 years). It reads as follows: 'D'ns. Ricardus le Boteler, qui habuit totam terram de Hout Rawcliffe, et unam bovatum terrae in Stagnole, ex dono consang. sui Thebald Walteri Pincernae Hiberniae. Ao 9 Ed. I.' which I translate as: Master Richard Butler, who had all the land of Out Rawcliffe, and a bovate of land in Stainall, as a gift from his cousin Theobald Walter Butler of Ireland. 1280/81. Given the date, I think the Theobald referred to must have been the fourth of that name to be Butler of Ireland (b. 1242 d. 1285). There is also a note that the original lands in Amounderness in Lancashire had come to this branch of the family as they were 'settled upon' by one of the younger sons of an