Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Missing Aubrey Frederick John Stafford b.1906 Glos

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

elizabeth

elizabeth Report 23 Mar 2013 11:52

I'm new to GenesReunited yesterday and am not entirely sure of how to do this yet! I've been searching for my great uncle Aubrey Frederick John Stafford( who went under the name we think of Frederick) for over a year now. The family said that he dissappeared in the 1930's/1940's? We now have a marriage certificate for him for 1933 where he married a Mildred Willsher in Stroud Gloustershire England. He signed his name as' Fredick' on the register and his fathers name was filled in by someone as his own name i.e Aubrey Frederick John Stafford. Was this a mistake or deliberate deception? His name has also come up as' Rubrey' on a recent reply that I've had. We think that Aubrey and Mildred had a daughter Hazel J Stafford b. 1936 in Stroud, Glos and a second child Pamela A b.1939 but I have been unsuccessful in tracing marriages/deaths for them. We have some photos of who we think is Aubrey and know that his nickname was Sandy because of his reddish hair. We are also told that he had a shocking temper and when he disappeared the police were already looking for him for reasons of their own! The photo we think