Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Italian/American Ancestors

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Janice

Janice Report 13 Oct 2014 17:42

Hi, I have been researching my Italian Ancestor Francis Discipline for a few years now. initially I didn't know his Italian name but different sides of the family mostly agree that it must have been Francesco Disciplino. There are two ideas of where he originated from one is just outside Napoli and the other is just outside Palermo in Sicily. Several members of the family have been trying as well as myself but been unsuccessful. I have, however over time, found several records for Francis Disciplines son, Antonio travelling back and forth to America to visit His Aunt (Francis's sister) on New York Passenger Lists. i have this week recently noticed that on a detainee record (arrival 4th Oct 1926 - ss Andania) a name and address and before it it looks like FR Sis, which I believe is Father's Sister. the address is 202 Main Street, Madison, New Jersey. I have traced the man(Salvatore Perretta through directories and Census's with a view to finding his wife which I believe maybe Francis's sister. I thought if I could trace her back to Italy I could then confirm the original Italian name and the village where the family came from. It look