Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Change "Startup" family

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

David

David Report 1 Apr 2016 08:08

Hi all,
I'm a newbie here and wondered if anyone can tell me how to change the "startup" family to a different part of my tree?
Thanks in anticipation

+++DetEcTive+++

+++DetEcTive+++ Report 1 Apr 2016 09:49

Welcome to the boards David.

You probably mean the 'Root' person. It can be done on Ancestry and many off line commercial trees but not sure if it can on Genes.

If you only have a few people on your tree, have you considered deleting it and starting again?

Elaine

Elaine Report 1 Apr 2016 13:34

On the family tree page, if you select the tree options setting (cog icon). There is an option to change root relation.

It then gives several options.

Andysmum

Andysmum Report 1 Apr 2016 14:22

One of my earliest contacts on here, with several thousand relations on her tree, :-| :-|
had the tree "upside down". In other words, her root relation was some Ancient Brit and she was about 50 pages up!!

She wasn't a contact for long - once I found out what a name-collector was!!

David

David Report 1 Apr 2016 20:14

Thanks to all - will try your suggestion Elaine.
As for "name collectors".......what's that all about Andysmum?