Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Grave Yards and Burials

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Delboy1978

Delboy1978 Report 19 Apr 2021 07:46

Morning all

I've been researching family history for about 15 years or so and spent many days visiting grave yards of villages where my family where from.

I have had a few successes but on the whole I rarely find anything from looking st gravestones in the local chart.

Is this because most people let's say before 1800s where buried in communal graves with no headstone or the common folk couldn't afford one?

If anyone can signpost so to anything to read up about it would appreciate it

Thanks

nameslessone

nameslessone Report 19 Apr 2021 08:36

Being unable to afford a headstone is not confined to any time period.

Headstones can deteriorate over a period of time and may have been removed.

Some graves are reused after a period of time so I would think the charts are the most reliable.

Gwyn in Kent

Gwyn in Kent Report 19 Apr 2021 09:14

Many of my ancestors were of limited means, not destitute and receiving money from the parish, but with no spare funds for 'extras'.
Consequently there is often a poor paper trail to keep track of them.
Church burial records though will often record their names.