Suggestions

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

  • The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Gift subscriptions

Genes Reunited gift subscription

Do you know someone interested in discovering their family history?

You can now buy a gift subscription to Genes Reunited so they can research their family tree.

Buy gift or redeem gift

Icons

  • New posts
  • No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Problems found with new site tree format

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

CupCakes

CupCakes Report 6 Dec 2011 11:26

1.Found a partner to a family member - full details added
Then added mother - just brief info - waiting for cert to arrive to comfirm who she was.
Then added 2 siblings with their partners.
Then from the last sibling added father using only last name and all unknown info (controversy over who the father really was)

What happened next all the other children disappeared on screen. No way to go back.
I then tried to delete the father thinking it would go back to the original format leaving mother with the 3 children.
It deleted both parents not just the father.
Except the first child all the other children were floating without being attached to anybody.

Found them in my tree and copied them in family groups to my clip board before deleting them.

Added father to first child and the mother the old way.
Then added the children in family groups one by one.

2. Copy info didn't include the death dates or my notes - very surprised it had changed. All had to be typed in again

All I can say what a mess. Newbees and those not so IT savvy will have real problems ;-) :-(