Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

  • The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Gift subscriptions

Genes Reunited gift subscription

Do you know someone interested in discovering their family history?

You can now buy a gift subscription to Genes Reunited so they can research their family tree.

Buy gift or redeem gift


  • New posts
  • No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Very poor site

Page 0 + 1 of 2

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date


Porkie_Pie Report 22 Aug 2012 22:11

James, Did you visit the thread that i posted for you to look at on page one of this thread 15 Aug 2012 23:51?

I suggested several ways for Richard that could help members with some problems viewing the site one of which was clearing your cache and giving the reason why clearing your cache is required,

If you did not read that post then may be it could help you but if you did and if you tried the solutions i suggested then I can only suggest that you continue to inundate GR with your problem but If the problem is your cache the GR will not be able to do that for you

How you clearing your cache will depend on what browser your using


Good luck



James Report 22 Aug 2012 20:50

Hi Roy - when we click on full tree all we are getting is immediate family consisting of 6 persons. We have over 100 persons in full tree. During our first 6 days when we clicked on this we got the full tree. Then we couldn't get the full tree but we could get ancestors and decendants. Now we only get immediate no matter which button we click on. We have emailed GR over and over and over - see the original post of 14th August (that was about the 5th email we had sent them). We sent this to GR and copied it here. It is not just us who are having problems either. All we get back from GR is 'we know there is a problem, we are trying to fix it, pleae be patient' But honestly would anyone be happy if you paid out what we have for this site and only get to use the full facilites for 6 days, this is now 5 weeks we have not been able to see the full tree and it only went chips when GR launched their new look site - sorry but I need to add an 'h' into the word s ite, because that's what it is now.


wisechild Report 21 Aug 2012 07:29

Hi Unknown.
Sorry, you misunderstood what I was asking. My fault, I didn´t make it clear.
What I meant was, how can GR refuse a refund because you have accessed the site.
If you hadn´t accessed it, you wouldn´t know it wasn´t working would you?
If you buy a new washing machine, you don´t know whether it works or not until you have tried it.


RolloTheRed Report 20 Aug 2012 20:51

I had this problem a couple of times - I have about 3 000 records on my Gru tree. This is what I did:
Closed all gru sessions.
Flushed Firefox cache.
Opened tree.
Navigated to a different part of the tree using the links.
Hit full tree.
And it worked again albeit with a lot of scrolling which never seemed to be such an issue with the old tree view.
It is said that Gru has issues with IE8/9 (though I have never found any) so try Firefox / Chrome / Opera.


Porkie_Pie Report 20 Aug 2012 20:16

If you click FULL the full tree should open but you will still need to navigate the tree using either the navigation tool (bottom left of the page) or by clicking on the page and dragging it to the relation your looking for

If it does not work then contact GR with details of exactly what you are doing and exactly what is or is not happening,

They cannot pinpoint your problem without a full explanation



James Report 20 Aug 2012 20:02

Thanks for your help and advice Rollo and others. Not being picky about the refund, it is just maddening that it worked perfectly for 6 days and then didn't.

Wisechild, there is a button on the top which says FULL TREE - when we clicked on this during the first 6 days we got to see our full tree, now when we click on it it does nothing ergo we cannot access it ergo it is not working properly!


wisechild Report 20 Aug 2012 07:31

How do you know it´s not working if you haven´t accessed it :-S


RolloTheRed Report 19 Aug 2012 21:06

No they are not quite right.

A rellie who is a lawyer has advised me that where somebody buys a service (eg access to census records) and gets with it as part of the package another element (eg family tree) then the deal for that person eg a platinum member is for the package as a whole, not just the bit that is nominally chargeable. Thus if a platinum member finds the tree not-fit-for-purpose then he . she can demand a refund. If Gru won't play then it is easy enough to file in the small claims court.

OTOH proving that the product does not work could be difficult as many people seem quite happy with it, The relevant group though would be platinum members not the generality of free/basic users and maybe they are less enamored having paid more.

In any case the current deadline to pull out for online selling is 28 days without giving a reason. No company can change this unilaterally. Thus if the demand for a refund was before 28 days and Gru won't pay then again the Small Claim Court with proof of demanding refund. Ay conform to the 28 day rule in the UK.

I personally feel I get reasonable value at £ 9 / 6 months basic. I don't feel that Gru other offers are value, but that is just my 2c.

Don't be surprised if this post gets squashed.


SylviaInCanada Report 16 Aug 2012 22:56

Also .......................

I believe there is something in the T&Cs that you will not get a refund IF you have accessed the site and used the records (or posted on the Boards)

There seems to be a 2 day period during which you can ask for a refund as long as you have not accessed the site.

This has been stated by GR several times in the past

And the guys are quite right ............

the tree is free ...................... anyone who pays a subscription pays for the extras that are ascribed to each subscription level.



RolloTheRed Report 16 Aug 2012 21:18

Exactly as Roy says you have paid for the census records etc not the tree and thus any tree bugs cannot be used to get a refund Q.E.D.. Of course you can demand compensation even for a free product if you can prove it caused you material loss or injury but other than frustration I doubt you'd get very far with gru...

BTW if you cancel yr sub then ALL the census records etc you have accessed will no longer be available so make sure you keep a copy outside of yr tree.

D C Thompson publisher of the Beano, People's Friend and Dandy have decided that Dandy will be terminated end 2012. D C Thompson also publish the web site GenesReunited.


Porkie_Pie Report 16 Aug 2012 20:38

The tree on GR is free,

you pay for additional services and not for the tree

It is free to register with Genes Reunited. You can build your family tree, use the search facilities to find possible matches to your family name, add notes against relations in your tree, post photos on your family tree and receive emails from other members and reply to these emails. Also, if you already have experience in researching your family history you can import your Gedcom file in to your Genes Reunited family tree.

They offer 2 types of subscription these are an addition to the free membership

1). Standard

2). Platinum

to see what these packages offer in addition to the free membership see




JustJohn Report 16 Aug 2012 20:14

KenSE. Not sure James and Yvonne paid sub for tree - that was part of their package. They were researching and trying to get value for their sub. And if you pay for something that is not fit for purpose, I think there may be a legal requirement to refund their £109.85.

I have not been following everybody's problems with site, but it does sound as if quite a few now feel they should be offered compensation for problems encountered.

There are some exceptionally helpful people on here who are trying to manage customer dissatisfaction on behalf of Genes. They are not paid by Genes and I really think they should be - what have Genes done to help customers with all these glitches?


KenSE Report 16 Aug 2012 11:42

John, the tree is free so there is nothing to refund.


JustJohn Report 16 Aug 2012 11:16


Maybe they will refund if it is not "fit for purpose". I think they have a legal requiremnet to do that, and may be worth pursuing via Trading Standards.

I am a basic member, have been for 9 years and it has been excellent value and have not realised the extent of the support available via community till I got very frustrated when old tree was removed finally a couple of weeks ago. "Community" is good fun and I would happily pay £20 rather than £9 something.

Not sure if you subscribe to other sites, but they are all fairly expensive but such good value (and I speak as one who spent the first 10 years of family history without a computer, travelling round all the graveyards, pouring through micro-fish in days before you dipped your feet in water, visiting all the Family History Centres in many towns. Cost me vastly more than, say, £200 pa, and I found out an awful lot less in those days.


Cynthia Report 16 Aug 2012 10:06

Good to see you James. :-D

Please don't be afraid to pick the brains of the people on the boards - many of us are here daily to see how we can help fellow members.

Some of those who help are very experienced and talented researchers and would be pleased to see if they can knock down any brick walls you may have.

Hope some of the above advice helps you to solve a few of your tree problems. Cx


RolloTheRed Report 16 Aug 2012 07:14

Most of the people who post regularly on this forum have basic membership. Some have a copy of their tree on this site, some do not. Quite a lot of people keep their main / reference tree copy off line using a program such as FTM. Others keep parallel trees on various other products.

Regarding yr current problem try this:

a. use either Firefox 14.01 (current stable release) or Chrome or Opera.
b. flush the cache, ensure any adblocker or popup permits the gru site
c. make sure your version of Flash is up to date
d. try the app in any of the above
e. if you still have problems export the tree to a GEDCOM file (it will arrive in yr email box) and then re-import it from the GEDCOM. Photos are not retained by GEDCOM.

At this point you will not be able to get a refund from Gru - they are extremely sticky on the matter so you may as well give the above a try. GRu are usually quite helpful and quick at fixing tree errors.

Gru has only a small developer team. Internet Explorer is an endless mishmash created from the gyrations and contradictions of MS policy over the last 10 years. There is a limit to how much of this mess any small team working from scratch can support.

Thus IE6 and IE7 should not be considered as apart from compat issues with many sites they have quite bad security problems. fwiw IE6 is widely used by UKGov for internal apps. on various intranets.

IE8 is somewhat better and I have run Gru on it ok in both compat and standard mode albeit with an existing tree not one created from scratch. IE9 is ok (ish) but not available on XP. IE10 is cool in beta but may not be released for Win7 let alone XP or Vista. MS appear to be considering moving the whole user base to Metro at one go by dint of a very cheap upgrade option which would include IE10. £ 25, anybody ?

good luck


Porkie_Pie Report 15 Aug 2012 23:51

James, see my post on the link below



James Report 15 Aug 2012 22:31

HI all - thanks for your replies. When we first took out platinum membership in early July the site worked fine, we spent hours building our trees and researching in the census forms and birth/death/marriages etc. After 6 days we could no longer see our full tree but could see our immediate ancestors and our decendents - in separate windows. Now we can only see our immediate family! This co-incided with the change in the look of the tree. We can still view the whole of the tree of a lady with whom we found a good connection but we can't see ours. We can still research the census forms and the other certs, but cannot see any of the people we have put in. I take your point about the cost, but as the site was, for the first 6 days, we were happy with it. I do not like the idea of just paying the standard rate and then picking the brains of people who possibly have paid full membership and I feel it is unfair to do so, and hovering over the avatar of others does not tell you if they have paid the full rate or not. I have tried to access our tree on another computer using Googe chrome and it is exactly the same as this. So no joy there. We have had replies from GU saying they know there is a proplem and they are working on it and to please be patient, but honestly this is frustrating the hell out of me now. In five weeks we have been able to access our full tree for only 6 days! :-( :-P


Cynthia Report 15 Aug 2012 13:38

James, I almost hate to admit that, having had continuous membership since 2003, it costs me a measly £9.75 per annum. Great value - good friendships - pity about some of the probs people are having.

Stick with standard membership and ask for help on the boards.

If you hover your cursor over people's avatars, you can see how long they have been members and how much experience of using the boards they have. Hope this helps.


jax Report 15 Aug 2012 02:19

The annual sub for premium is £80 a year so you must have purchased something else with it?

Also no problems with the site not working