Find Ancestors

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

John H Miller, born 1850 - missing death cert

Page 0 + 1 of 2

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Leanne

Leanne Report 9 Aug 2019 12:28

Hi there. This is my first time posting to this forum, but I have been researching my family tree for a few years now. I'm looking for some help with a problem I have never managed to resolve - finding out what became of my 3 x great grandfather, John Henderson Miller. The last record I can find of him is the 1901 census, where he is living in Leith (Edinburgh) and working as a 'Tramcoay Servant' (not sure what that is, but presumably something to do with the trams!). Strangely, the census lists him as living alone, despite his wife still being alive then. After that, I can find no record of John - nothing in the 1911 census and no death certificate. He appears to have died before 1929, as his wife's death cert in that year lists him as deceased (if that is accurate). Can anyone point me in the direction of where else to look or help me find out what happened to John? This is what I know about him:
Born in 1850, Shetland.
Married Barbara Tait in Shetland, 1876, he was a sailor at the time.
They had several children in Shetland, then moved to Leith in the early 1880s.