General Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Intriguing facts...or odd ones- any ideas please?

Page 0 + 1 of 3

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Ian

Ian Report 10 Jan 2010 01:17

HI Folks,
I've been doing genealogical research for a few decades, so most 'normal' searches are understood, and I like to think myself good at ferreting out hard-to-find aspects, eventually.

However, this is very intriguing. It only dawned on m the other day the overall connection. I'd be interested in opinions on why, or solutions.

My ggg grandfather was born named David Turnbull in Dundee in 1826. I have a copy of the Scottish OPR register for that.
He married in 1848 in Newcastle upon Tyne. We have the certificate.

In 1849, 1851 & 1855, he registered three children's births born in or around Newcastle. The fourth was born in 1854 in Cuba, West Indies. (They did travel a bit back then)

All were Father: David Turnbull, or sometimes listed as David White Ridley Turnbull; and mother Frances, Turnbull, formerly Middleton. Anyhow, I have the birth certificates, except for the Cuban one- (any one know if they're available there...?)

The family went overseas again, to West indies, and to Bombay again over the next five years.