Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Workhouse

Page 0 + 1 of 3

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Donna

Donna Report 9 Sep 2015 17:53

Hello
I'm new to this and I think I've found my great grandmother in a workhouse 1901 because it states she has a 2day old baby with her and they're both listed as inmates.
does anyone know how I can I find out which workhouse it was and more details of when she went in and left etc?

Rambling

Rambling Report 9 Sep 2015 17:59

If you're looking at the image of the census you might have to work back a few pages to see which workhouse it is, if you're looking at the transcript it usually says.

She may only have been in there to have the baby, have you found her on the next census?

You might also look at http://www.workhouses.org.uk/ when you know which workhouse it is.

Welcome to the boards, If you would like to give the names someone will take a look :-)

+++DetEcTive+++

+++DetEcTive+++ Report 9 Sep 2015 18:00

Welcome to the Boards Donna

The name of the workhouse is probably on the image or its transcription.
Depending where it is, you may have to trackdown the admission/discharge books if they survive
The following link will tell you the history of the workhouse and were surviving records are kept